Use of e-books is restricted by licensing agreements to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff of Grove City College. These resources are only available from the GCC campus network. Click here for more information.
NOTE: These resources have been prioritized to make finding quality information easier.
Access to current American and World political information through a variety of resources, including the Political Handbook of the World, Congress and the Nation, Politics in America, and CQ Weekly, as well as Supreme Court Yearbook, CQ Researcher, Historic Documents Series, and four quality political science encyclopedias.
Provides access to the Vital Statistics on American Politics Series from 2005-2006 to 2015-2016. Topically organized, Vital Statistics on American Politics is a rich and authoritative resource of data covering the full spectrum of American politics dating back to 1788.
This work incorporates information about a variety of white-collar crimes, and provides examples of persons, statutes, companies, and convictions. Each entry offers a thorough and thoughtful summary of the topic. Describes specific elements of corporate law and the various illegal acts to which they apply and brief biographical sketches, primarily focused on how they relate to the study of white-collar crime.
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
"Covers a broad range of historical and modern topics to create an understanding of many of the most significant social and political developments and changes throughout much of human history, from the French revolution, to the global women’s movement, to Martin Luther King and the American civil rights movement, through to more recent issues including environmentalism and the Arab Spring"
Online edition of 26 volume encyclopedia covering all fields of the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: aging, psychology, demography, education, gender studies, law, linguistics, public policy, sociology, urban planning, etc.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, 2nd Edition addresses the persistence of poverty across the globe while updating and expanding the landmark first edition, originally published in 2006 prior to the economic calamities of 2008.
The SAGE Handbook of Political Sociology offers a comprehensive and contemporary look at this evolving field of study. PART 1: TRADITIONS AND PERSPECTIVES PART 2: CORE CONCEPTS PART 03: POLITICAL IDEOLOGIES AND MOVEMENTS PART 04: TOPICS PART 05: WORLD REGIONS
"Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders."
This title is a great starting point for research on terrorism. Topics covered include a historical look at counterterrorism strategies and laws since WWII, key issues, counterterrorism since 9/11, and more.
has provided valuable in-depth coverage and analysis of every decision from the nation's highest court since the 1989-1990 term. Includes overviews of Supreme court terms from 1989 – 2009, case summaries, tables and figures on voting patterns and trends in constitutional law, biographies and more.
Historic Documents has made primary source research easy by presenting excerpts from documents on the important events of each year for the United States and the world.
Each volume includes approximately 70 events with well over 100 documents from the previous year, from official or other influential reports and surveys, to speeches from leaders and opinion makers, to court cases, legislation, testimony, and much more.