Henry Buhl Library: MNGT 214 -- Business, Ethics, & Society: Background Reading

Background Reading Resources

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society
Explores current topics, such as mass social media, cookies, and cyber-attacks, as well as traditional issues including accounting, discrimination, environmental concerns, and management.
Encyclopedia of Management
Covers numerous topics in management theories and applications, such as aggregate planning, diversification strategy, supply chain management, and much more.
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime
This work incorporates information about a variety of white-collar crimes, and provides examples of persons, statutes, companies, and convictions.
Sociology of Work: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref HD 6955 .S648 2013 v. 1-2
This multi-disciplinary encyclopedia covers curricular subjects, ranging from business and management to anthropology, sociology, social history, psychology, politics, economics, and health.
Highlighted entries: Child Labor; Immigrant Workers; Outsourcing; Telework; Whistleblowing; Work/Life Balance
Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics
Call Number: Ref HF 5387 .B55 1998
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics provides clear, concise and highly informative definitions and explanations of the key concepts in one of the most important fields in contemporary business.
Achieving Sustainability
It presents and analyzes the underpinnings of the multi-disciplinary concept of sustainability.
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Call Number: Ref HF 5803 .A38 2003
Provides overviews of advertising in the major countries of the world, covers important issues affecting the field, and discusses the key aspects of methodology, practice, strategy, and theory. Featured articles: Children, Targeting
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
Call Number: Ref HF 1001 .E466 2022 v. 1-2
"The Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 3rd edition, covers finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems, and is designed for the non-specialist."
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence
Call Number: Ref HM 1211 .S24 2015 v. 1-2
Cultural competence refers to the set of attitudes, practices, and policies that enables a person or agency to work well with people from differing cultural groups. Other related terms include cultural sensitivity, transcultural skills, diversity competence, and multicultural expertise.

International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society
It addresses a full range of topics including digitally-mediated social media, commercial applications and online gaming, to law and policy analysis and information and communication technologies for development.

Encyclopedia of Body Image and Human Appearance
Call Number: Ref BF 697.5.B63 E53 2012 v. 1-2
The encyclopedia's 117 full-length chapters are composed and edited by the world's experts from a range of disciplines--social, behavioral, and biomedical sciences.

To learn more about multi-level marketing, try these websites:

Understanding Multi-Level Marketing
from Forbes magazine
Business Guidance Concerning Multi-level Marketing (from the Federal Trade Commission)

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides pro/con info on controversial topics, including business and trade.

Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Business Ethics and Society
Call Number: HF 5387 .T355 2015
Taking Sides volumes present current controversial issues in a debate-style format.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial Issues in Marketing
Call Number: HF 5414 .T35 2001
This debate style reader is designed to introduce students to controversies in marketing. The readings represent the arguments of leading business professionals and marketing researchers.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Management
Call Number: HD 31 .T24 2015
Includes articles on employee privacy, social media use at work, outsourcing, social responsibility, and immigrants as a workforce.

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Try Ebsco eBooks.

Start with some background reading.

Otherwise, finding articles will take longer.

Tip: Use the links and books on this page to help you identify keywords.

Your research will be better and take less time!
Click on the image below for details and an example of how this process works.

Once you have read up on your topic and have a list of keywords, you are ready to find Journal Articles and/or Digital Sources.

Background Reading
A brief how-to of background reading and identifying keywords

Find Books & eBooks

Some search terms to start.

Social responsibility of businesses
Insider trading in securities
Downsizing of organizations
Internet marketing
Target marketing
Interactive marketing
Online social networks

This is not an exhaustive list.

Some Relevant Call Number Ranges:

HC - Economic History & Conditions

HD - Industries. Land Use. Labor.

HF - Commerce

HG - Finance

Need a book the library does not own?

You can request the book through Interlibrary Loan. Info and a downloadable form are available here!

To search for books available in other libraries, try using

WorldCat -- Search the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries to locate books and identify citation information.

Library of Congress -- Access to the Library of Congress catalog and other online collections.

NOTE: Users do not need to identify a library that owns the book. Simply provide the appropriate information on the form and library staff will do the rest!