Skip to main content

Citing the Bible and other Biblical Resources

Use this key to identify the elements of a citation.

Dictionary Example (Print)

Dictionary (Print)
(Unsigned Entry) 

APA


Beck. J. (2011).  Shepherd. In Zondervan dictionary of biblical imagery 
         
(pp. 235-237).  Grand Rapids, MI:  Zondervan.

MLA


Beck, Jack.  "Shepherd."  Zondervan Dictionary of Biblical Imagery
          
Zondervan, 2011, 
(pp. 235-37).

Turabian


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Beck, Jack.   Zondervan Dictionary of Biblical Imagery.   Grand Rapids:
       
  Zondervan,   2011.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
Beck, Jack.   2011. Zondervan Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Grand Rapids:
       
 Zondervan.

Chicago


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Beck, Jack.   Zondervan's Dictionary of Biblical Imagery Grand Rapids:
       
  Zondervan, 2011.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
  Beck, Jack.   2011.   Zondervan's Dictionary of Biblical Imagery.   Grand
        Rapids: 
Zondervan.


Key:

 
Author of Book | ❷   Title of Entry |   Title of Book |   City of Publication |
  Publisher |   Year of Publication |  Medium of Publication |
  Inclusive Page Numbers for Entry

A Chapter in an Edited Book in a Multi-Volume Work (Print)

APA


Longenecker, R. N.  ❾ (1981).  Acts. In F. E. Gaebelein (Ed.),The
        expositor's Bible commentary
: With the New International Version:  ❺ Vol. 9. 
       
John and Acts (pp.  ❿ 205-573).  Grand Rapids, MI:Zondervan.

MLA


Longenecker, Richard N. "Acts."  John and Acts 1981, pp. 205-573. 
        The Expositor's Bible Commentary: With the New International Version, general
        editor,
  ❸ Frank E. Gaebelein, 
vol. 9,  ❽ Zondervan,  1976-92. 12 vols.

Turabian


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Longenecker, Richard N. "Acts." In  John and Acts,   vol. 9, The
        Expositor's Bible Commentary: With the New International Version
, edited by 
        ❸
Frank E. Gaebelein,  ❿ 205-573.  Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1981.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
Longenecker, Richard N. 1981."Acts." In  John and Acts,   vol. 9, 
       
The Expositor's Bible Commentary: With the New International Version
, edited by
        ❸
Frank E. Gaebelein,  ❿ 205-573.  Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

Chicago


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

 Longenecker, Richard N. "Acts." In  John and Acts Vol. 9 of The
        Expositor's Bible Commentary: With the New International Version
, edited by
       
Frank E. Gaebelein,  ❿ 205-573.  Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1981.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
Longenecker, Richard N. 1981. "Acts." In  John and Acts Vol. 9 of
       
The Expositor's Bible Commentary: With the New International Version
, edited by
        ❸
Frank E. Gaebelein,  ❿ 205-573.  Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

A Book in a Series (Web)

A Book in a Series (Web)
(No known place of publication or publisher) 

APA


Henry, M.   (1706).   Genesis. In  ❸ Matthew Henry commentary on the
        whole Bible (complete)
. Retrieved from http://www.biblestudytools.com/
        commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/genesis

MLA


 Henry, Matthew.   Genesis. Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole
        Bible (Complete)
n. p.,   1706.  Bible Study Tools Online,
        
www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/genesis

Turabian


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

 Henry, Matthew.  ❷ Genesis.  ❸ Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole Bible
        (Complete). 
 N.p., 
 1706. Accessed  March 18, 2011.
          ❾
http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/genesis/.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
Henry, Matthew.  ❻ 1706.  Genesis Matthew Henry Commentary on
        the Whole Bible (Complete). 
N.p. Accessed ❿  March 18, 2011.  
        http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/genesis/. 

Chicago


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Henry, Matthew.  ❷ Genesis.  ❸ Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole Bible
        (Complete)
N.p.,  ❻ 1706. http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/
        matthew-henry-complete/genesis/.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
Henry, Matthew.  ❻ 1706.   Genesis.   Matthew Henry Commentary on
        the Whole Bible (Complete)
.  ❹ N.p. http://www.biblestudytools.com/
        commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/genesis/.


Key:

 
Author of Book | ❷   Title of Book |   Title of Series |  City of Publication |
  Publisher |   Year of Publication |  Medium of Publication |
  Name of Website | URL  |   Access Date

Dictionary Example (Web)

Dictionary (Web)
(Signed Entry) 

APA


Schafer, G. E.  (1996). Peace. In W. A. Elwell (Ed.), Baker’s
        evangelical dictionary of biblical theology.
Retrieved from
        http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/

MLA


Schaefer, Glenn. E. “Peace.” Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical
        Theology
, edited by Walter A. Elwell,  Baker Books, 1996.
       
Bible Study Tools Online
http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/
         bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.

Turabian


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):
Elwell, Walter A., ed. Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology.
        ❺
Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 1996. Accessed  March 22, 2011.     
        ❿ http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/. 

Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
 
Elwell, Walter A., ed. 1996. Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical
         Theology
Grand Rapids: Baker Books. Accessed March 22, 2011. 
           ❿
http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.

Chicago


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Schaefer, Glenn E. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical
        Theology
, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books,
        1996.
http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
Schaefer, Glenn E. 1996. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of
        Biblical Theology
, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker
        Books.
http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.

 
Key:

❶  Author of Entry |  Title of Entry |  Editor of Book  |   Title of Book |  City of Publication |
  Publisher |   Year of Publication |   Name of Website  |  Medium of Publication |
  URL  |    Access Date

Map (Web)

Map (Web) 

APA


Lucidity Information Design.  (2011).  First-century Galilee  ❹ [Map].  
        ❺ 
Enter the Bible. Retrieved from  ❼ http://www.enterthebible.org/
        resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107

MLA


Lucidity Information Design. "First-Century Galilee."  Enter the Bible, 
         ❻
Luther Seminary, 2011, 
www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?
        rid=1107.
Map. Accessed  ❾ 12 Apr. 2011.

Turabian


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):
 
According to the Turabian Style Manual, maps are listed only in the Notes of your paper. However, should your professor require its inclusion in your bibliography, use the following example:

Lucidity Information Design.  "Map: First-Century Galilee."  Luther Seminary.
        Accessed
April 12, 2011.  http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?
        rid=1107.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations):
 
According to the Turabian Style Manual, maps are listed only in the Parenthetical Citations of your paper. However, should your professor require its inclusion in your reference list, use the following example:

Lucidity Information Design.  2011.  ❸ "Map: First-century Galilee."  ❻ Luther
        Seminary. Accessed  
April 12.  ❼ http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?
        rid=1107.

Chicago


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Lucidity Information Design.  "Map: First-Century Galilee."  Luther Seminary.
        Accessed
April 12, 2011.  http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?
        rid=1107.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
Lucidity Information Design. 2011.  "Map: First-Century Galilee."  Luther
        Seminary. Accessed 
April 12.  http://www.enterthebible.org/
        resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107.


Key:

 
Author of Map | ❷   Publication Date of Site |   Title of Map |
  Description of the Format of Information |   Name of Website |   Owner of Site |
  URL |   Medium of Publication | ❾  Access Date