Skip to main content

Citing the Bible and other Biblical Resources

These examples will help you to cite Bible Commentaries available in print and on the web.

A Note on Citing Commentaries

NOTE: When citing Bible commentaries, it is important to understand that commentaries are simply books. To cite them properly, you need to identify what type of book it is.

This page provides you with some of the most common examples, including these types of print and online sources:

  • A Chapter in an Edited Book in a Multi-Volume Work (Print)
  • A Book in a Series (Print)
  • A Book in a Series (Web)
  • A Commentary from the Christian Classics Ethereal Library (Web)

Chicago Manual of Style edition note:

The Chicago examples provided on this page are consistent with both the 16th and 17th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style. If you have any questions, refer to the complete style manual below.

A Chapter in an Edited Book in a Multi-Volume Work (Print)


A Chapter in an Edited Book in a Multi-Volume Work
(Print)
(Such as the Expositor’s Bible Commentary or New Interpreter’s Bible.)
Click here for help deciphering the elements of this citation.

APA


Longenecker, R. N. (1981). Acts. In F. E. Gæbelein (Ed.), The expositor’s Bible
     commentary: With the New International Version: Vol. 9. John and Acts
     (pp. 205-573). Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.

MLA


Longenecker, Richard N.  “Acts.” John and Acts, 1981, pp. 205-573.
     The Expositor’s Bible Commentary: With the New International Version,
     general editor, Frank E. Gæbelein, vol. 9, Zondervan, 1976-92. 12  vols.

Turabian


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Longenecker, Richard N. “Acts.” In John and Acts, vol. 9, The Expositor’s
     Bible Commentary: With the New International Version, edited by Frank E.
     Gæbelein, 205-573. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1981.

Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations):
Longnecker, Richard N. 1981. "Acts." In John and Acts, vol. 9, The Expositor’s
     Bible Commentary: With the New International Version, edited by Frank E.
     Gæbelein, 205-573. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

Chicago


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Longenecker, Richard N. “Acts.” In John and Acts. Vol. 9 of The Expositor’s
     Bible Commentary: With the New International Version, edited by Frank E.
     Gæbelein, 205-573. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1981.

Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
Longenecker, Richard N. 1981. "Acts." In John and Acts. Vol. 9 of The
     Expositor's Bible Commentary: With the New International Version, edited
     by Frank E. Gæbelein, 205-573. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

A Book in a Series (Print)


A Book in a Series (Print)
(Such as the NIV Application Commentary, NICOT, or NICNT)

APA


Enns, P. (2000). Exodus. In T. Muck (Series Ed.), The NIV application commentary series.
    
Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.

MLA


Enns, Peter. Exodus. Edited by Terry Muck, Zondervan, 2000. The NIV Application
     Commentary Series.
 

Turabian


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):
Enns, Peter. Exodus. NIV Application Commentary Series, edited by Terry Muck. Grand
     Rapids: Zondervan, 2000.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations):
Enns, Peter. 2000. Exodus. NIV Application Commentary Series, edited by Terry Muck.
     Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

Chicago


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Enns, Peter. Exodus. The NIV Application Commentary Series. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2000.

Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
Enns, Peter. 2000. Exodus. The NIV Application Commentary Series. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

A Book in a Series (Web)


A Book in a Series
(Web)
(No known place of publication or publisher)
Click here for help deciphering the elements of this citation.
 

APA

 
Henry, M. (1706). Genesis. In Matthew Henry commentary on the whole
     Bible (complete). Retrieved from http://www.biblestudytools.com/
     commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/genesis/

MLA

 
Henry, Matthew. Genesis. Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole Bible
     (Complete), n.p., 1706. Bible Study Tools Online, www.biblestudytools.com/
     commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/.

Turabian

 
Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):
Henry, Matthew. Genesis. Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole Bible
     (Complete). N.p., 1706. Accessed March 18, 2011.
     http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/
matthew-henry-complete/genesis/.

Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations):

Henry, Matthew. 1706. Genesis. Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole
      Bible (Complete). N.p. Accessed March 18, 2011.
      http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/
matthew-henry complete/genesis/.

Chicago

 
Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):
Henry, Matthew. Genesis. Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole Bible
     (Complete). N.p., 1706. http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/
     matthew-henry-complete/genesis/.
 
Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): 
Henry, Matthew. 1706. Genesis. Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole
      Bible (Complete). N.p. http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/
 
     matthew-henry-complete/genesis/.

Commentary from Christian Classics Ethereal Library (Web)


Commentary from Christian Classics Ethereal Library (Web) 
(No known publication date)

APA


Calvin, J. (n.d.). Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans. (J.Owen,
      Trans. & Ed.).
Retrieved from http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html

MLA


Calvin, John. Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans. Translated and
     edited by John Owen, CCEL, n.d. Christian Classics Ethereal Library, www.ccel.org/
     ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html.

Turabian


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Calvin, John. Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans. Translated
     and edited by John Owen. Grand Rapids: Christian Classics Ethereal Library, n.d.
     Accessed March 17, 2011. http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations):
Calvin, John. n.d. Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans.
     Translated and edited by John Owen. Grand Rapids: Christian Classics Ethereal Library.
     Accessed March 17, 2011. http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html.

Chicago


Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Calvin, John. Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans. Translated
     and edited by John Owen. Grand Rapids: Christian Classics Ethereal Library, n.d.
     http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html.


Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):
Calvin, John. n.d. Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans.
     Translated and edited by John Owen. Grand Rapids: Christian Classics Ethereal
     Library. http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html.