This four-volume set covers American literature, from the European discovery of America to the present, with entries in alphabetical order. It includes 350 substantive critical and interpretive essays on the most-studied American authors, literary masterworks, and genres or movements.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world --- with its beginnings over 150 years ago.
Find information about literary characters from ancient times through the present, including both classic and popular literature. Character information is listed by the title of the work.
Also available online via Salem Press.
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
by Michael Ferber
Call Number: Ref PN 56 .S9 F47 2017
This dictionary explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold) and gives thousands of cross-references and quotations. It concentrates on English literature, but its entries range widely from the Bible and classical authors to the twentieth century, taking in American and European literatures.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Fiction
by Nancy M. Tischler
Call Number: Ref PS 374 .C48 T57 2009
Learn about the personal, professional, and religious background; works; themes; and criticism of today's best known Christian fiction writers, including C. S. Lewis, Wendell Berry, Flannery O'Connor, Janette Oke, Tracie Peterson, Anne Rice, and many others.
Bibliographies of works by and about each author are included.
Encyclopedia of the Novel
by Paul Schellinger (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PN 41 .E487 1998 v. 1-2
Articles in this encyclopedia cover authors, novels, and literatures of countries around the world.
This Encyclopedia offers an indispensable reference guide to twentieth-century fiction in the English-language. With nearly 500 contributors and over one million words, it is the most comprehensive and authoritative reference guide to twentieth-century fiction in the English language.
Access to reference works, books and literary journals.
Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus
Call Number: Ref PE 1591 .L625 2012
The perfect tool for finding the perfect word, the Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus is an invaluable source of inspiration as well as an authoritative guide to selecting and using vocabulary. Packed with information, this essential guide for writers includes more than 300,000 synonyms and 10,000 antonyms, with real-life example sentences to help you pick the correct word.