Henry Buhl Library: E-Books & Online Books: HUMA

HUMA eBooks

Best Places to Start

Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization
"A comprehensive reference work on the history and impact of Christianity. This four-volume work spans issues ranging from theology, politics and law, through to literature, art and architecture."
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Online encyclopedia covering theology, philosophy, history, literary figures and more.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible
Contains entries on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.
Oxford Reference Online Database -- Religion
Search Oxford University Press Religion Dictionaries; Handbooks & Subject Companions (Encyclopedias)

For Further and More Specific Information

Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture This link opens in a new window
Addresses topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full text eBooks across a variety of subjects.

Encyclopedia of Religion in America
A multidisciplinary examination of religion in American life.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The digital version of all Loeb volumes, searchable by author, subject, or series number. New volumes are added when published.

Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization
"A comprehensive reference work on the history and impact of Christianity. This four-volume work spans issues ranging from theology, politics and law, through to literature, art and architecture."
Cambridge Companions Online
Includes the Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture.
Contemporary Middle East
Contains primary source documents from 1917 to the present day.
CQ Press Library
Access to current American and World political information.

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full text eBooks across a variety of subjects.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The digital version of all Loeb volumes, searchable by author, subject, or series number. New volumes are added when published.

Best Places to Start

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Considered the authority on the English language, offers meaning, history, and pronunciation on over 500,000 English words and phrases.

Oxford Companion to English Literature, 7th edition
Extensive coverage of writers, works, literary theory, allusions, and characters.
Oxford Reference Online Database -- Literature
Access to a collection of online dictionaries and encyclopedias related to literature.

For Further and More Specific Information

Twayne's Authors Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
eBook series of 800+ volumes covering the lives, works, and importance of writers from around the world.

American Poets and Poetry: From the Colonial Era to the Present
This encyclopedia covers U.S. poetry from the Colonial era to the present, and includes entries on hundreds of poets of the American canon.

Bloom’s Literary Criticism e-Books This link opens in a new window
Provides biography and criticism on hundreds of authors curated by world-renowned literary critic Harold Bloom.
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics This link opens in a new window
eBook collection offering thousands of essays on major literary authors, periods, and genres.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The digital version of all Loeb volumes, searchable by author, subject, or series number. New volumes are added when published.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
eBook series of 400+ volumes spanning subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, especially political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.
Salem Literature Online This link opens in a new window
eBook collection supporting literary studies, including the Critical Insights series focused on individual authors, works, and themes.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts
Covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts.

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full text eBooks across a variety of subjects.

Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization
"A comprehensive reference work on the history and impact of Christianity. This four-volume work spans issues ranging from theology, politics and law, through to literature, art and architecture."
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
A comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
Oxford Reference Online Database -- Art & Architecture
Search dictionaries and encyclopedias related to art and artists, including photography and architecture.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts
Covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts.
Oxford Reference Online -- Performing Arts Advanced Search
Includes music and opera dictionaries and companions as well as resources for all the performing arts.
This does NOT include the Grove Music Online!
Oxford History of Western Music
Offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin.

Cambridge Companions to Music This link opens in a new window
Provides clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full text eBooks across a variety of subjects.

Controversial Issues Resources

Controversies in Contemporary Religion: Education, Law, Politics, Society and Spirituality
Addresses a variety of current religious issues, analyzing religion's role in the rise of fundamentalism, censorship, human rights, environmentalism and sustainability, sexuality, bioethics, and other areas.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues
Coverage in this extensive encyclopedia comprises of business and the economy issues; criminal justice issues; family and society; and environment, science and technology issues.
Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States
"Provides a thorough introduction to historical and contemporary issues in American religion, tackling controversial hot-button topics such as abortion, Intelligent Design, and Scientology."
Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization
"A comprehensive reference work on the history and impact of Christianity. This four-volume work spans issues ranging from theology, politics and law, through to literature, art and architecture."

Other Recommended eBooks

ABC-CLIO e-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
eBook collection of 400+ encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides across many research areas

Achieving Sustainability: Visions, Principles, and Practices
It presents and analyzes the underpinnings of the multi-disciplinary concept of sustainability.
Bioethics
Offers entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others.
Cultural Sociology of Divorce: An Encyclopedia
Covers curricular subjects related to divorce, as examined by disciplines including anthropology, social and legal history, developmental and clinical psychology, and religion.

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full text eBooks across a variety of subjects.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Access to the online Encyclopedia Britannica, plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.

Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity
Reflects the changes in the mission of human services professionals as they face today's increasingly diverse service population. Diversity includes differences in ability and disability, age, education level, ethnicity, gender, geographic origin, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, and values.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2nd Edition
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia provides coverage of important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The digital version of all Loeb volumes, searchable by author, subject, or series number. New volumes are added when published.
Oxford Reference Online Database This link opens in a new window
Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works.

Social History of the American Family: An Encyclopedia
Chronicles the social, cultural, economic, and political aspects of American families from the colonial period to the present.
SAGE Reference Series on Disability
A cross-disciplinary and issues-based series which incorporates links from varied fields making up disability studies.
Sage Encyclopedia of World Poverty
Addresses the persistence of poverty across the globe while updating and expanding the landmark first edition, originally published in 2006 prior to the economic calamities of 2008.